Below is the 2021 Conference Schedule.

Please note this is a DRAFT of the sessions that will be included in this year's event. 

All sessions in this schedule subject to change.

(Times for this event are provided in both EST and PST.)

Return to top
POST CONFERENCE DAYS EVENTS:
Monday, December 6th (subject to change)

5PM-6PM PST

8PM-9PM EST 

NADTA Student Forum III & 2021-2023 Board Meet & Greet

MEETING

LEAD PRESENTERS: Student Committee Chairs & 2021-2023 NADTA Board of Director

 No CEs will be awarded for this session.
SATURDAY, SEPTEMBER 18th
TIME WORKSHOP/PRESENTER(S)  CONTINUING EDUCATION CREDIT

8:00 AM - 9:15 AM PST

11:00AM - 12:15 PM EST

Coffee Talk ("World Cafe") Opening 

NETWORKING SESSION (ALL CONFERENCE EVENT)

No CEs will be awarded for this session.

 

9:30 AM - 12:30 PM PST

12:30 PM - 3:30 PM EST

 CHED Forum

WORKSHOP/FORUM (ALL CONFERENCE EVENT)

PRESENTERS: NADTA CHED Committee

CEs: 3 hrs RDT*, LCAT, & NBCC

*This offering is eligible for RDT CE hours toward the CHED-content area.

 

12:30 PM - 1:00 PM PST

3:30 PM - 4:00 PM EST

 30 MINUTE BREAK

1:00 PM - 2:30 PM PST

4:00 PM - 5:30 PM EST

(Concurrent Sessions)

Barrier-Free Theatre vs COVID-19

PERFORMANCE

PRESENTERS: Sally Bailey, MFA, MSW, RDT-BCT, Bryant Mehay, MA, CRTS, Emily Fraser, BA, Kim Wong, BA

ABSTRACT: In 2019 the Barrier-Free Theatre in Manhattan, KS created as their annual play “Happy Endings.” March 2020, COVID-19 sent the community actors with disabilities into a year-long quarantine in their group homes. With vaccines taken Spring 2021, rehearsals restarted. See our livestreamed show and learn how we beat COVID!

1.5 HRS RDT

*This offering is eligible for RDT CE hours toward the CHED-content area.

 

 

Keep Learning, Elmo Loves You: An Exploration of Drama Therapy Peer Supervision in the Time of COVID-19

PERFORMANCE

PRESENTERS: Anna Rich, MA, P-RDT, Amy Larson Lazier, MA, CGCS

ABSTRACT: This performance will explore the experiences of two individuals navigating their roles as recent drama therapy graduates in the world of Covid-19. Operating from a deep understanding that ritual and community building is essential, this performance explores how we can define and preserve our drama therapy selves during times of transition, and how we can do so within the limits of a virtual world.

1.5 HRS RDT

 

Let-Them-Have-It: An Abridged Performance Journey

PERFORMANCE

PRESENTERS: Michelle Christina Moreno, MS, RDT & Jordan Stewart

ABSTRACT: A drama therapist's Autobiographical Therapeutic Performance that is a bit of a rock-n-roll odyssey as she explores cultural identity and creativity.

1.5 HRS RDT

*This offering is eligible for RDT CE hours toward the CHED-content area.

2:30 PM - 3:00 PM PST

5:30 PM - 6:00 PM EST

30 MINUTE BREAK

3:00 PM - 4:30 PM PST

6:00 PM - 7:30 PM EST

(Concurrent Sessions)

Behind Blue Sky: A Therapeutic Film and Theater Response to the Soul Wound of 9/11 on New York City

PERFORMANCE

Presenter(s): Maria Hodermarska, MA, RDT-BCT, CASAC, LCAT, Armand Volkas, MFA, MA, MFT, RDT-BCT, Chantal Georges, MA, RDT, LCAT, Sara Kliger, RDT, LCAT

ABSTRACT: For the 20th Anniversary of 9/11, an entirely BIPOC-identified ensemble of drama therapists and theatre artists examine its legacy. In this current age of pandemic and social-political reckoning, they grapple with the permanent scars inflicted on the body of NYC.

 

CEs: 1.5 hrs RDT*, LCAT, & NBCC

*This offering is eligible for RDT CE hours toward the CHED-content area.

 

 

 

 

Anatomy of a Castle - A Self-Revelatory Performance

PERFORMANCE

PRESENTERS: Daphne Ong, MA, AMFT, Christina Lewis, MA, RDT

ABSTRACT: Once upon a time, in a not-so-faraway castle, there was a protagonist living their story. One day, they began to examine their castle and notice the rooms, battlements, bricks, attachment wounds, and adaptive strategies that made up the castle. But now that they have noticed the castle's parts, how do they make sense of it? How do they use this knowledge untangle their patterns and heal their wounds?

This recording of a Self-Rev performed live over Zoom shares a personal story of healing and growth originally conceptualized for the stage and re-adapted for an online platform when in-person performance became no longer possible due to shelter-in-place in the middle of the creation process

CEs: 1.5 hrs RDT*, LCAT, & NBCC

*This offering is eligible for RDT CE hours toward the CHED-content area.

4:45PM - 6:15PM PST

7:45PM - 9:15PM EST

 

Regional Meetings

MEETING

PRESENTERS/FACILITATORS: NADTA Regional Representatives

 

No CEs will be awarded for this session.

Return to top

BETWEEN THE CONFERENCE DAYS EVENTS:
 Saturday, September 25th, 2021

9:00 AM - 11:00 AM PST

12:00 PM - 2:00 PM EST

 

Disability Justice Forum 

WORKSHOP/FORUM (ALL CONFERENCE EVENT)

LEAD PRESENTERS: CHED - Disability Justice Sub-Committee

 

 *CEs: 2hrs RDT*, LCAT, & NBCC

*This offering is eligible for RDT CE hours toward the CHED-content area.

(NOTE: CEs will only be awarded for this session for paid attendees.  Please register for a paid tier or contact the office for single-event registration to receive CEs for this event.)

 
Monday, September 20th, 2021
 

5:00 PM - 6:00 PM PST

8:00 PM - 9:00 PM EST

 

NADTA Student Forum I - Affinity Group Spaces

MEETING

LEAD PRESENTERS: Student Committee Chairs

 

No CEs will be awarded for this session.
 Return to top
SATURDAY, OCTOBER 9th

8:00 AM - 8:45 AM PST

11:00 AM - 11:45 AM EST

Self Care Morning Session

NETWORKING SESSION (ALL CONFERENCE EVENT)

 

 
No CEs will be awarded for this session.


9:00 AM - 10:30 AM PST

12:00 PM - 1:30 PM EST

(Concurrent Sessions)

Alternative Track Meeting

MEETING/INFO SESSION

PRESENTER/FACILITATOR: Mimi Savage, NADTA Education Chair

No CEs will be awarded for this session.

Research Forum

WORKSHOP/FORUM

PRESENTERS: Jason Frydman, PhD, RDT, NCSP, Chyela Rowe, MA, RDT, Angelle Cook, PhD, RDT, Julia Griffiths, MA, DT, Chelsi Kern, MA

CEs: 1.5 hrs. RDT, LCAT, NBCC

Two Journeys into the Self - Autobiographical Therapeutic Performance in Film

PERFORMANCE

PRESENTERS: Susana Pendzik, PhD, RDT, Idalmis Garcia, MA, Ramon Guitart, MA

ABSTRACT: These Autobiographical Therapeutic Performances in Film present the stories of two Spanish-speaking drama therapy graduates, one from NYU and one from CIIS, as they embarked on an exquisite journey towards their ancestral past and their lived experiences, narrating tales of migration and foreignness, transformation, soul searching, and self-birth.

CEs: 1.5 hrs RDT*, NBCC, LCAT

*This offering is eligible for RDT CE hours toward the CHED-content area.

Once for Ever After: A performance piece about aging happily … at least for a while:)

PERFORMANCE

PRESENTERS: Catherine Debon, MFT, RDT, Christina Lewis, MA, RDT

ABSTRACT: This performance is an intimate look at the deconstruction of the Happily Ever After Story. What happens when we get older and everything falls apart? What is there afterwards? Using self-revelatory performance processes, authentic movement and original texts and songs, Christina Lewis and Catherine Debon explore the limitations of the myth of domestic bliss, and how aging is an opportunity to discover our authentic selves. This co-creation has been an opportunity to embrace the limitations of COVID, become ZOOM pioneers, celebrate our connection and the creative process.

CEs: 1.5 RDT*, NBCC

*This offering is eligible for RDT CE hours toward the CHED-content area.

 

10:30 AM - 11:00 AM PST
1:30 PM - 2:00 PM EST

30 MINUTE BREAK 

11:00 AM - 1:00 PM PST 

2:00 PM - 4:00 PM EST

Body of Knowledge: Why Drama Therapy? 

WORKSHOP/FORUM (ALL CONFERENCE EVENT)

PRESENTERS: Sally Bailey, Jessica Bleuer, Renee Emunah, Maria Hodermarska, Fred Landers, Nisha Sajnani, and Laura Wood
 CEs: 2 hrs RDT, LCAT, NBCC

 

1:00 PM to 2:15 PM PST

 

4:00 PM to 5:15 PM EST

 

DIGITAL DINING: NETWORKING MEAL BREAK

NETWORKING SESSION (ALL CONFERENCE EVENT)

Bring a meal with you into the networking room and connect with other conference attendees.

No CEs will be awarded for this session.
 

2:15 PM - 4:15 PM PST
5:15 PM - 7:15 PM EST

Poster Sessions

WORKSHOP/FORUM (ALL CONFERENCE EVENT)

PRESENTERS: Agathe de Broucker, MA, RDT & Opher Shamir, MA, LCAT-LP (NADTA Poster Curators)

For more information, click here to review the poster abstracts:

    

 

CEs: 2 hrs RDT*, LCAT, & NBCC

*This offering is eligible for RDT CE hours toward the CHED-content area.

 

4:15 PM PST - 4:45 PM PST
7:15 PM - 7:45 PM EST


30 Minute Break

 

4:45 PM - 6:15 PM PST

7:45 PM - 9:15 PM EST

(Concurrent Sessions)

 

The Players' Play

PERFORMANCE

PRESENTERS: Warren “Randy” McCommons, RDT-BCT, MFT, Aileen Cho, RDT-BCT, LMFT, Ramon Guitart, MA, Stephanie Bayne, RDT, LMFT

ABSTRACT: What happens when a group of DvT players find each other online and share their experiences in DvT therapy? This play is based on verbatim transcriptions of interviews with DvT players done over the last 20 years with a touch of imagination to tie them together. Any similarities to real people are totally and completely imaginary. However these imaginary people gave their real permission to use their words.

CEs: 1.5 hrs RDT*, NBCC

*This offering is eligible for RDT CE hours toward the CHED-content area.

 

 घर, Plural (Home, बहुवचन)

 PERFORMANCE

 PRESENTERS: Ishita Pahoja, AMFT & Maitri Gopalakrishna, PhD, RDT

ABSTRACT: ??, Plural, is a self-revelatory performance that grapples with locating the essence of home. It is an attempt at embracing the plurality of home in intersecting identities, physical spaces, relationships, and internal roles. This is the second rendition of the performance with a current check in with the internal roles.

CEs: 1.5 hrs RDT*, NBCC, LCAT

*This offering is eligible for RDT CE hours toward the CHED-content area.

Advocacy Through the Arts: a barrier-free approach to empowering individuals with disabilities to tell their stories

PERFORMANCE

PRESENTERS: SarahEdwards, MA, RDT, Waverly Ann Harris, M.S.Ed. [CEO]

ABSTRACT: Using barrier-free approaches to facilitate self-advocacy and intimate creative expression, adults with disabilities direct films to answer the question, “How do you want the world to see you?” Advocacy Through the Arts uses culture-shifting innovation to give power back to the individuals to shape the way the world sees them.

CEs: 1.5 hrs RDT*

*This offering is eligible for RDT CE hours toward the CHED-content area.

 Return to top
BETWEEN THE CONFERENCE DAYS EVENTS:

Wednesday, November 3rd, 2021

5:00 PM - 6:30 PM PST 

8:00 PM - 9:30 PM EST

 

NADTA Education Competencies Roll-Out Info Session

FORUM (ALL CONFERENCE EVENT)

LEAD PRESENTERS: Mimi Savage (Education Chair), Laura Wood, Adam Reynolds (Ethics Chair

No CEs will be awarded for this session.
Monday, October 11th, 2021 (subject to change)

5:00 PM - 6:00 PM PST

8:00 PM - 9:00 PM EST

 

NADTA Student Forum II - "What Are You Working On?"

MEETING 

LEAD PRESENTERS: Student Committee Chairs

 

No CEs will be awarded for this session.
Return to top
SUNDAY, NOVEMBER 21st

8:00 AM - 8:45 AMPST

11:00 AM - 11:45 AM EST

Self Care Morning Session

NETWORKING/OPENING SESSION (ALL CONFERENCE EVENT)

No CEs will be awarded for this session.

9:00 AM - 12:00 PM PST

12:00 PM - 3:00 PM EST

 

Annual Membership Meeting Awards and RDT/BCT Announcements

MEMBERSHIP MEETING (ALL CONFERENCE EVENT)

LEAD PRESENTERS: NADTA Board of Directors

CEs: 3.0hrs RDT

12:00 PM - 12:15 PM PST

3:00 PM - 3:15 PM EST

15 MINUTE BREAK  

12:15 PM - 1:45 PM PST

3:15 PM - 4:45 PM EST

(Concurrent Sessions)

 

 

BCT Meeting

MEETING

LEAD PRESENTERS: Mimi Savage, NADTA Education Chair

Required for all BCTs.

No CEs will be awarded for this session.

Government Affairs Meeting

WORKSHOP/FORUM

PRESENTERS: NADTA Government Affairs Committee

 CEs: 1.5 hrs. RDT

FREE PLAY - NYU Collideoscope Repertory Theatre Company (CRTC)

PERFORMANCE

PRESENTERS: Adam Stevens, MA, RDT

ABSTRACT: Located in the NYU Program in Drama Therapy’s Theatre & Health Lab, the Collideoscope Repertory Theatre Company (CRTC) was founded in 2020 with a mission to advance racial justice and healing through performance. The inaugural performance, Idris Goodwin's FREE PLAY, a collection of five short plays, locates Black lives and embodies Black stories that span over many generations, from young children to beloved elders. Goodwin’s work speaks directly to contemporary Black narratives in performance.

CEs: 1.5 hrs RDT*

*This offering is eligible for RDT CE hours toward the CHED-content area.

A Failed Therapist: A Mockumentary on Myths & Misconceptions About Therapists & Therapy Within the Indian Context

PERFORMANCE

PRESENTERS: Anupriya Banerjee

ABSTRACT: A Failed Therapist” is an Indian Mockumentary on the current state of mental health awareness told through the lens of multiple practising ethical therapists, different randomised voices from the population and one therapist with a questionable level of competency.

CEs: 1.5 hrs RDT*

*This offering is eligible for RDT CE hours toward the CHED-content area.

1:45 PM - 2:15 PM PST
4:45 PM - 5:15 PM EST

 30 Minute Break  

2:15 PM - 3:45 PM PST

5:15 PM - 6:45 PM EST

(Concurrent Sessions)

Ethics Plenary

WORKSHOP/FORUM

LEAD PRESENTER: Adam Reynolds, NADTA Ethics Chair

 CEs: 1.5 hrs RDT, LCAT, NBCC

DTR Workshop

WORKSHOP/FORUM

 CEs: 1.5 hrs RDT

Dropping the Star

PERFORMANCE

PRESENTERS: Ornela Kapetani, MA, RDT, CCTP, Armand Volkas, MLF, RDT-BCT

ABSTRACT: An Albanian woman defies the Communist system to find liberation and meaning in embracing an empowered life. This Autobiographical Therapeutic Performance follows her intimate journey through the traumas of patriarchal oppression, sexual abuse and reclaiming abandoned parts of her Self.

CEs: RDT*, NBCC

*This offering is eligible for RDT CE hours toward the CHED-content area.

Finding Emilou: A Relationship-Centered Care Case Study in Concert

PERFORMANCE

PRESENTERS: Kareen King, RDT

ABSTRACT: In a unique case study format using original song, narrative, and puppetry, Kareen King, RDT, illustrates crucial relationship-centered care lessons learned from an individual with dementia, leaving participants with a greater propensity toward empathic care.

 

CEs: 1.5 hrs RDT*

*This offering is eligible for RDT CE hours toward the CHED-content area.

4:00 PM - 6:00 PM PST

7:00 PM - 9:00 PM EST

Poster Sessions

WORKSHOP/FORUM (ALL CONFERENCE EVENT)

PRESENTERS: Agathe de Broucker & Opher Shamir - NADTA Poster Curators

For more information, click here to review the poster abstracts:

    

CEs: 2 hrs RDT*, LCAT, & NBCC

*This offering is eligible for RDT CE hours toward the CHED-content area.

Return to top